Aarhus University

Aarhus University is a research-intensive, internationally oriented university with a broad academic scope.

It is Denmark’s second largest university and among the top 100 in Europe.

The university offers programs in a wide range of disciplines spanning the humanities, natural sciences, social sciences, and health sciences.

Aarhus University was founded on 11 September 1928 as Denmark’s first state university.

Although its roots extend back to 1655 and the founding of Aarhus’s first hospital, the University Hospital of Aarhus, it was not until 1928 that the university came into being in its own right.

The initial impetus for the university came from a desire to counteract the increasing influence of the University of Copenhagen on Danish academic life.

In 1949, the university was granted autonomy from the State of Denmark, and it rapidly grew in size and stature, becoming an internationally respected institution by the end of the 20th century.

Today, Aarhus University is a leading European research university with a strong international orientation. The university offers an extensive range of programs at both the undergraduate and graduate level, and it is home to a growing community of over 38,000 students from more than 130 countries.

The university is organized into six main faculties: Arts, Business and Social Sciences, Health Sciences, Science and Technology, Theology and Religious Studies. Within these faculties are a number of research centers and institutes, as well as a number of interdisciplinary research platforms.